Naomi Fineberg Distinguished New Researcher Award

Dr. Naomi S. FinebergThis award celebrates the leadership and service shown by Dr. Naomi S. Fineberg to the UAB Department of Biostatistics. The award was established to highlight the research accomplishments and potential of students and postdoctoral trainees in the Department of Biostatistics.

Dr. Fineberg joined the Department of Biostatistics in 2004 as a Research Professor after working at the Indiana University Medical School for 27 years.  She established and served as the head of the Biostatistics Consulting Center until her retirement.  From 2007 to 2010, she led the Department of Biostatistics Journal Club where she helped Biostatistics students critically evaluate and present published research. She served as department chair beginning in 2011 until her retirement in December 2013.

A selection committee will choose two awardees from among current doctoral and postdoctoral trainees in the Department of Biostatistics who, through their research, have demonstrated the potential to make contributions to the field of biostatistics. The recipients will receive their award and present a seminar during December as part of the Biostatistics Lecture Series.

Past Awards

  • 2016 Award - Recipients: Yan Li and Seth Lirette
  • 2015 Award- Recipients: William Hillegass and Xinyan Zhang
  • 2014 Award - Recipients: Guoqiao (Peter) Wang and Amber Salter
  • 2013 Award - Recipients: Michael W. Sandel and Himel Mallick



Accessibility | UAB Web Policy | Disclaimer | Contact Us  | © Copyright UAB School of Public Health